WidenersRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingRepackbox
Inline FabricationLee PrecisionLoad DataSnyders Jerky
Reloading Everything MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: I'm new to casting and I want to know....

Boolit Mold

I'm new to casting and I want to know....

After being nudged into casting my own bullets, I took the plunge.
    I got a Lee progressive loader with all of the attachments for 38/357 and 38 super.
    I am good friends with a local station owner and he gave me all of his lead tire weights.
    I ordered 38 casting molds along with a bottom pour melting pot.
    Then after casting 20 pounds of semi wad cutters I came across an interesting article.
    The article read: When casting, drop your hot castings into cold water. This process will make the lead bullets harder!
    I'm thinking this might be of use as some of the castings had small chunks missing and will have to be recast.
    Then last night I was talking to a long time casting buddy and he suggested tumbling the wad cutters in moly to make them slicker.
    I know how soft the lead was after I cast them and I'm thinking they will beat themselves to a pulp.
    Add to this a recent viewing of one guys reload station, I noticed he had a vibrating pot at one end of the bench.
    Before I could ask, he said I polish them after I make them. As you can see, they come out looking like new without the problem of getting all that medium in the shells.

So, here I am, wondering if I should follow their lead and chill my castings the next time I pour?
    Then the moly suggestion has really got me wondering.
    I think I need, no; I know I need the forum's advice before I cast again.

Boolit Man