PDA

View Full Version : New Model Ruger Vaquero - Opinions?

Tazman1602
01-05-2010, 02:35 PM
:(
Man I was bummin today. Wife took me out the day after new years and bought me a brand new Ruger New Model Vaquero in .357. Being I used to be a rifle builder but know nothing about revolvers (built a lot of semi's but no revolvers...) I read the manual, took it apart to clean it -- the ejector rod was "sticky", and down in the hammer/transfer bar area with hammer cocked, when I looked there were massiverust pits all over the transfer bar, behind it, on the firing pin, etc. Thank goodness we bought it from a large reputable shop because they are immediately finding me another one but the only time I've seen anything rust like that was when corrosive primers and/or tracer rounds had been shot through the gun and not cleaned -- and this one was NEW.

Opinions on what could have caused that? Lack of care in the shops showcase? Too much humidity? Maybe someone decided to try it out, shoot it and then put it back in the case? Never seen a brand new Ruger rust like this and just wondering if any of you have, it's a blued model. It's a really nice gun -- my FIRST single action only and feels REALLY nice in my hand. I'm pretty sure it had to do with not cleaning/oiling the showcase guns regularly, look at the pics to appreciate what I'm talking about.

Man and I had just read some of the articles here on revolvers and accuracy and found out I know NUH-THING about them. I'd cast some new soft boolits to check throat area, barrel, etc. Kinda like your wife getting a boob job and you can't play with them now.

Here's links to pics if you want to look, they are full size so I didn't want to suck up too much bandwidth from the forum:

Photo 1 (http://i525.photobucket.com/albums/cc336/Tazman1602/Vaquero.jpg)

Photo 2 (http://i525.photobucket.com/albums/cc336/Tazman1602/Rusty1.jpg)

Hey I had to whine to someone.........:violin:

Art