RepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationLee Precision
WidenersTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
Snyders Jerky Load Data

Thread: Cold Blue-what works

Boolit Master

Cold Blue-what works

Being that I am prone to buy "beaters" to play with and shoot and that I am a definate amateur when it comes to gunsmithing but always try anyway....I was wondering if anyone has any thoughts on using a cold blue like Brownells OXPHO BLUE or 44-40 or something similar. Now I know it will never be as good as the traditional methods but am talking about shooters not collectors. Can one of these be used to give a decent finish? Also has anyone tried the "blue and rust remover" products. I am not talking about "touch-up", but rather re-blueing a small frame handgun or small rifle action.
    Anyone have any tips or comments..always appreciated

Boolit Bub
    I have had best luck with Brownells OXPHO BLUE. My tip is to use the creme style (doesn't dry so quick) and heat the metal a little using a hair dryer.
    I did a couple of old Turk mausers and they turned out pretty nice.

Considering how fragile the professional blueing is, I don't use it anymore (why pay $100 for something that is that easy to scratch?). There are browning solutions that when boiled (the part - after being browned) turn black. There was a thread the other day about one of these. Or, why not just brown instead of blueing? Oxpho blue is the only one I've used (of the cold blues) that was worth the time to put on.
    We need somebody/something to keep the government (cops and bureaucrats too) HONEST (by non government oversight).

Every "freedom" (latitude) given to government is a loophole in the rule of law. Every loophole in the rule of law is another hole in our freedom. When they even obey the law that is. Too often government seems to feel itself above the law.

We forgot to take out the trash in 2012, but 2016 was a charm! YESSS!

Beekeeper