Lee PrecisionRepackboxLoad DataInline Fabrication
Reloading EverythingWidenersSnyders JerkyTitan Reloading
RotoMetals2 MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .308 Copper Bullets in .318 Mauser

Boolit Mold

.308 Copper Bullets in .318 Mauser

I own a circa 1913 M98 Mauser sporter with an 8X57"I" bore - that is, .318. I use cast gas check bullets made in a Lyman mold made speciffically for the purpose, or .318 jacketed bullets made by Woodleigh. I would like to use the rifle in an area which prohibits lead or lead-based bullets; only solid copper or gilding metal bullets are allowed. Unfortunately no one makes lead-free bullets in .318 diameter. They are available in .308, .310 and .311 diameter, however. In this forum I have read accounts of people using paper patched .308 cast bullets in .318 bore rifles. Has anyone out there tried it with all copper bullets? Any thoughts or suggestions would be very welcome. I have never used paper patched bullets before.

Boolit Master
    Passive reply here take it with a grain of salt.

Find the bore dia which I don't know.

To patch copper jacked stuff I have read that rolling the bullet under a course "clean" file will raise a knurl type mark.

2x or 3x warp with paper then size to 1 thou over groove.

Printer paper may be the go if its 308-318 = 10 + 1 for contact=11/4 = 2.75 thou min paper.

Wrap a few and try with min loads can't see it hurting anything if they strike side ways at the target.

Some of the people who know better than I will be along shortly.

Barra

If printer paper doesn't work there is still the much stronger cotton tracing paper to try. That stuff expands when wet and shrinks down real tight! Someone on this sight has done it successfully. Hopefully, he will be along soon. Otherwise try doing a search for paper patching jacketeds or something that might yeild results. (It'll be under the now black powder paper patching forum).
    Rest In Peace My Son (01/06/1986 - 14/01/2014)