Load DataWidenersRepackboxLee Precision
MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingSnyders Jerky
Inline Fabrication Titan Reloading

Thread: Observation: Going from a 10 LB to a 20 LB pot

Boolit Master

Observation: Going from a 10 LB to a 20 LB pot

I'm in my second year of casting. I started out with a LEE 10lb bottom pour. After getting a six cavity, the 10 was too small. Plus my pot seem to only run good between about 2 though 8 pounds of alloy. It was either running too fast or too slow.

I just got a LEE 20lb bottom pour. I spent the morning casting with a couple two cavity molds. What I notice was the lead temperature stayed much more consistent. I didn't have to stop to add metal and wait to come up to temp. I was in the groove for a much longer period of time. My production was increased. My boolits look great and seem very consistent.

The only down side is the spout is a bit hidden. I was able to get used to it.

Live and learn. Now I have two pots!!

Boolit Master
    Now you can use the 10 lb pot for adding hot metal to the 20. Then you wont have to wait for it to come back up to temp.
    Qajaq59

One slow hit is better then 500 quick misses. "It ain't the noise that kills 'em!!!!"

Boolit Man
    i used a 10lb pot first..it was a friends. when i bought one i got the 20lb er. the 20lb one is MUCH better.

rm

Boolit Master
    i use the old dip pot (from my Dad 35 yrs old) filled with alloy to dip the corner of my mold to pre heat and bottom pour to cast. Also for blending alloy etc

Boolit Grand Master