RepackboxLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingReloading Everything
Load DataWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
PBcastco RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 14 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Lee Loader

Lee Loader

Many of you guys seem to be old hands at reloading, having started with a Lee Loader kit. I had a couple of kits (30-30, 357) sitting on the shelf, and decided to try them out, just to see what it is like to make ammo with them. The 30-30 kit was particulary intriguing because it has a hand priming tool that seems to work pretty well.

Using those kits was fun! Slow, but I was impressed with how uniform the rounds came out, and how well the tool did what it was supposed to do.

Now, to go shoot those rounds. I have a high degree of confidence that they will function well based on the way they went together.

Boolit Master

I have a kit for every caliber of gun I own. Some took some finding to obtain. Even have one in 450 Marlin! This one would have been custom made right before Lee stopped doing the custom made kits.

You have to have a method of flaring the case mouth to use cast bullets with these kits.
    Michael

Quote Originally Posted by Ranch Dog
    You have to have a method of flaring the case mouth to use cast bullets with these kits.
    Both my 30/30 and my 357 kit have a flaring tool, and the 30/30 flaring tool has a crimper on the other end. Perhaps because these are older kits?

Boolit Grand Master

Lee used to make MATCH hand die kits. One feller set a National Bench Rest Record (modern) while using one of these sets.

Many years ago, Richard Lee made me custom sets for my .222 Remington and also my .257 Roberts. The amount charged was absolutely a "Piddling amount". This was probably thirty years ago. I have been a fan of LEE's ever since.

Dale53

Boolit Mold

Smile Lee Loaders