Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingLoad DataRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyInline FabricationWideners
Reloading Everything Repackbox

Thread: vette78

Boolit Mold

vette78

Hi guys, I'm new here and this is my first posting. I'm also new to pistol reloading and casting. I loaded a 30 45 acps with cast boolits I bought they were supposed to be .451 diam. I used pre fired brass and winchester large pistol primers. I loaded 10 3.5 gr. bullseye, 10 3.6 gr bull., and 10 3.7 gr bull., I sized, neck expananded a little, and taper crimped them all. I loaded to an overall length of 1270 give or take a cpl thou. the 3.5 all fired but one it was stuck in the barrel and had to be removed, I also had 4 cases that failed to eject but stuck in the ejection port straht up. I had i failure to eject in the same way with each other loads. The group at 25 feet was not bad it was fired offhand. the group fired a 21 yards was better but fired resting the pistol. my question is why did the cases fail to eject? sorry it is so long winded I didn't want to leave anything out. Any hep is appreciated. Oh some of the cases had a slight bulg e when the buluut seated. but not much.

Boolit Master
    Check here : http://www.handloads.org/loaddata/de...Powder&Source= might find something usefull , or go to the powder web sites .

Might be a little lite on powder if you have a stiff main spring . Just a WAG on my part .

Keith
    Only dumb question is the one not asked

Life Member NRA
    Life Member GOoA

Moderator Emeritus

5 grains of Bullseye behind a 230 grain boolit has been the standard for decades. I have absolutely no idea where you came up with 3.5 to 3.7 grains. 3.8 grains is listed as minimum charge. I hope you realise using too little powder can be just as bad, if not worse than using too much. Especially in a cavernous case, it can detonate and literally grenade your gun. PLEASE go buy a reloading manual before you go any further.
    Give us this day our daily lead.