Titan ReloadingInline FabricationLoad DataWideners
MCD ProductsLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
RotoMetals2 Reloading Everything
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Burnt motor on Magma Bullet Master?

  1. #41
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    South Prairie, WA 98385
    Posts
    326
    Greetings,

    "Made in USA" !!!!!!

    Cheers,

    Dave

  2. #42
    Moderator Emeritus


    JonB_in_Glencoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Posts
    16,030
    Good News to hear you are running again.
    Yes, a Fuse is a real good idea.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

  3. #43
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    334
    Glad to hear you are up and running. The nice thing about industrial items are they are somewhat standard. So they continue being made and available.

    I’ve used plenty of Dayton Electric motors and they have been fine.

    Happy casting!

  4. #44
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    526
    Quote Originally Posted by JonB_in_Glencoe View Post
    Good News to hear you are running again.
    Yes, a Fuse is a real good idea.
    Do you know what kind of fuse I would need? I run 230v/90 on DC. That's what the motor controller unit say anyway.... I'm not very compitent on electrical issues... If the motor meet resistance in form of a hangup, this would spike, right?

    Sent fra min Pixel 8 via Tapatalk

  5. #45
    Moderator Emeritus


    JonB_in_Glencoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Posts
    16,030
    For motor fusing, it's all about the motor amp rating, not the AC supply voltage (230) or output DC voltage (90).
    The tag on the new motor says 1.5 amp
    I think the standard is 125% to 250% FLA (full load amps) rating.
    So I would fuse it with a 3 amp fuse, that has a voltage rating of 250volt, even though it will be on the 90 volt DC side.
    It should be a fast blow fuse. Installed on wires between the motor controller and the Motor (armature).

    I tried to be as detailed as possible, in case someone else here has a better memory than me and can correct any errors I might have made. This type of stuff was my job, but I haven't worked in that part of the industry since 1993.

    Quote Originally Posted by hunter74 View Post
    Do you know what kind of fuse I would need? I run 230v/90 on DC. That's what the motor controller unit say anyway.... I'm not very compitent on electrical issues... If the motor meet resistance in form of a hangup, this would spike, right?

    Sent fra min Pixel 8 via Tapatalk
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

  6. #46
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    526
    Do you think this would do the job?

    Sent fra min Pixel 8 via Tapatalk

  7. #47
    Moderator Emeritus


    JonB_in_Glencoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Posts
    16,030
    that should probably work.
    BUT...
    I think the rules for circuit breakers are different than fuses. I don't think it's a range, I think it's just recommended to be 125%. Is there a 2 amp breaker like that?
    I see the DC voltage rating on that breaker is 125...that is good.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

  8. #48
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    526
    Ok... Looks like 3A is the smallest they have. Any smaller they only have the glass fuses,but that would work also I guess

    Sent fra min Pixel 8 via Tapatalk
    Last edited by hunter74; 07-13-2024 at 05:52 PM.

  9. #49
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    1,089
    Does the Motor report LRA (locked rotor amps)?

  10. #50
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    526
    Quote Originally Posted by justindad View Post
    Does the Motor report LRA (locked rotor amps)?
    I don't know what that is. You'll have to explain that in plain (dumbed down) English


    Sent fra min Pixel 8 via Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check