Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRepackbox
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Wideners Load Data

Thread: Sizing gas check boolits

Boolit Bub

Sizing gas check boolits

I've been casting gas check boolits for over 40 years. I have always sized the same as plain based boolits. I read something recently that made me wonder if I have been sizing incorrectly all these years. Your thoughts on the subject, please.

1Iron

Vendor Sponsor

Quote Originally Posted by 1Iron View Post
    I've been casting gas check boolits for over 40 years. I have always sized the same as plain based boolits. I read something recently that made me wonder if I have been sizing incorrectly all these years. Your thoughts on the subject, please.

1Iron
    Maybe site what it was that you read and how it's different from the way you're doing it.

Sent from my SM-A526U using Tapatalk

Boolit Master
    When using a lube sizer I set the GC on the bullet base then put the bullet in the sizer. When sizing for powder coating I set the GC on the bullet and set it on the ram, sizing nose first.

Boolit Buddy
    I snap the gascheck on the base then size GC end first.

Boolit Bub
    My question was vague. What I am wanting to know is, do you size to the same the bore diameter or .001" over using a gas check?

1Iron

Vendor Sponsor

Quote Originally Posted by 1Iron View Post
    My question was vague. What I am wanting to know is, do you size to the same the bore diameter or .001" over using a gas check?

1Iron
    I size at least. 001" over, sometimes. 0015 over for 9mm

My process on GC has always been snap the check on first and then nose first through the die.

Sent from my SM-A526U using Tapatalk

Boolit Master