Snyders JerkyRepackboxLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters Supply
WidenersReloading EverythingInline FabricationRotoMetals2
Titan Reloading Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12ga Slug Brinell Harness for Different Velocities?

12ga Slug Brinell Harness for Different Velocities?

Hello Everyone! New member here.

I am new to casting and have everything that I need to start this great skill set.

My question is, what is the ideal Brinell hardness for 12ga slugs?

Should it be different for different velocities (ie. subsonic versus 1200 - 1600 fps versus 1600+ fps)?

I have:
    20# of Antimonial Lead (RotoMetals)
    10# of Foundry (RotoMetals)
    50# of Lino and Mono (auction site)
    5gal bucket full of WW's

Not sure if it matters, but I'll be shooting a semi-auto 12ga, and I also powder coat with Prismatic Powders.
    Thanks in advance for your time and knowledge!

jmho - Foster or Lee type slugs soft lead especially if to be used in tight choked barrels -
    never pick a fight with an old man - if he is too old to fight he will just kill you -
    in this current crisis our government is not the solution , it is the problem ! -

ILLEGITIMI NON CARBORUNDUM

as they say in latin

I use plain Wheel Weights for everything. Some recommend "pure lead" for Slugs. I personally don't think it makes much difference and I've had pretty good results from WW. Lee 1 oz slugs, Lyman style 525 slugs and Round Balls.

Randy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_1535.jpg   IMG_1525.jpg   IMG_1524.jpg   IMG_2338.jpg   100464871.JPG  

"It's not how well you do what you know how to do,,,It's how well you do what you DON'T know how to do!"
    www.buchananprecisionmachine.com

Boolit Grand Master

Definitely soft lead for Lyman Foster slugs as they are so much undersize that they have to swell up to fill the bore to get any sort of accuracy. For Lyman sabot slugs and Lee slugs I don't htink it much matters from what I have read.