Lee PrecisionLoad DataSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
RepackboxTitan ReloadingReloading EverythingWideners
Inline Fabrication MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: By volume, or by weight???

Boolit Buddy

By volume, or by weight???

Greetings! Ive started making my own BP. It works well! However, I am new to loading BP cartridges, and I get conflicting information regarding weight and volume. I have been loading each case with 50 grains by weight in my .45-70 1884 Trapdoor with a Lee 405 Grain HB boolit. I'm not looking to discuss my load data, as its irrelevant for this discussion. What I need to know, is why are people telling me to load by volume??? I have been weighing out 50 grains, and not using volume. My understanding is that a volume measure simple averages out what would be an accurate AVERAGE WEIGHT. Is this wrong? Why wouldn't weight be more accurate than volume?

Boolit Buddy

For real black powder (not substitutes) you can use either or weight vs volume. For consistency stay with the same system for records and your loading process (you can most likely be more consistent for repeatable charges using weight vs volume). This does not apply to most BP substitutes as there is a larger difference between volume and weight so use manufacturers recommendation on those.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPbC1XvpY3M
    Tom

On water northern Mn . 1903.colt's Avatar
    When I load either by weights or volume my only concern is that the base of the bullet is slightly compressing the charge . I also use a thin paper over powder card .

Boolit Grand Master Don McDowell's Avatar
    Way back in the 1800’s they weighed charges for the best accuracy.
    This volume thing is largely perpetuated by the confusion that came about when Pyrodex first came out.
    You can get very good loads by volume but if you go to a different lot of powder the actual weight can change
    Same thing can happen when going from one brand of powder to another