Snyders JerkyRepackboxLoad DataMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee PrecisionWidenersTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
RotoMetals2 Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flaring cases for cast boolits

Boolit Mold

Flaring cases for cast boolits

So I am studying, melting and reloading probably faster than I should. A question about flaring for cast boolits has intruded on my consciousness. Whilst preparing my first S&W 460 loads with Cast Boolits, I did notice that these boolits got shaved worse during seating, unlike the jacketed bullets I normally load. I do pay attention and I caught this on the first load and increased the flare on all the cases. While reading "From Ingot to Target: A Cast Bullet Guide for Handgunners" I noticed that it specifically stated that I should not be able to feel the Lube Grooves while moving the boolit in and out of the case by hand. I just wanted to check in on this one and get some input from the community. I normally use a minimal flare to seat Plated Boat Tail Rifle bullets and flaring to get a bullet nearly loose in the case seems a bit excessive.
    Manic Mike

Boolit Master
    You flare enough to prevent shaving the bullets. What else could you do? That is what I do and have never had a problem. There will be many who will answer. Still you will need to flare enough to prevent shaving.

Buffalo Arms Expanding Dies, actually expand the brass and not “flare” the case mouth. The flaring die in die sets are for jacketed bullets that only need minimal flaring since they are smaller than what is needed for cast bullets.

Boolit Mold
    I did flare the cases enough to stop any shaving, but an expanding die seems to make more sense than a flaring die for these new boolits I have discovered. The responses are really appreciated, I'm researching as fast as I can and it seems that I have more and more questions!
    Manic Mike