Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2Inline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersReloading EverythingRepackbox
Titan Reloading Load Data
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Comments on Lee Products

Comments on Lee Products

I'm not trying to pick a fight here, I just want to express some frustrations. I am a 50 year veteran of reloading. I've used just about any kind of press you can imagine, including Ideal hand tools and some odd ball Russian stuff. Recently I bought a Dillon SDB which kind of prompted this post. I have purchased a lot of Lee stuff over the years. The worst of which was a Pro 1000 I could never get to run right, never. Lee has some interesting designs. They should work, and honestly, most do, but they have a high fiddle factor. That is, you have to continually tweak them to get full function. The dies are perfect, the factory crimp dies work perfectly, but the shell holders are way too generously proportioned and may not always accurately or securely, fit the case head. I can't fault their single stage press, it always works, as does their hand primer too. It's their progressives that are just too flimsy and Rube-Goldberish. Their case and bullet feeders work, mostly, but they feel cheap. Of course, Hornady bullet feeder dies feel substantial but rarely work. I guess it's relative.

Lee aims for price followed by function. Others, like Dillon, don't consider price much at all and are fully function oriented. Others are in the middle. For me, I like the form of the tool as much as the function, thus Lee never fully satisfies. That's not to say they make junk. Far from it. It's just the aesthetic factor is missing for me. YMMV
    R J Talley
    Teacher/James Madison Fellow

I am not a Lee hater, nor Lee lover. I am a Lee realist. Some of their items are great, and some not so much. I do not care for their dies. Their single stage presses I do like however, including the Handpress. The Lee Loaders I've used all worked well and were fun.