Reloading EverythingRepackboxSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
WidenersLoad DataRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Inline Fabrication Titan Reloading

Thread: What hog ring pliers to get?

Boolit Master

What hog ring pliers to get?

This will not be a lifelong use tool, so I want what is affordable of course. I see several kinds. I see several sizes of rings. I need to makes loops in barbed wire and attach to the top of a chain link fence. I have never used ring nose pliers. Dewalt has one that loads like a stapler with 11/16 rings. Is this the finished size when crimped? Will it close tighter? Will that set of pliers be limited to 11/16 or could it take smaller rings? I tried reading the add info, no luck. You fellows know.

I have some experience working with barbed wire and know how dangerous it is. Like a spring if you let it go, or gets slack on the spool. To make matters worse, there is really no spool, it is wound tight and stays together while tied off. I'm gonna have fun taking loops off that tube. Is there a spool for these things to mount in, like to hang on a bumper and allow it to unwind with some tension? Something to make would be easy enough I think.

Thanks in advance,
    Jim
    Most of the tanks are gone and the windows don't rattle anymore. I won't be able to sleep now.

Ask the guys at where they sell rolls of barbed wire what most people use.
    That, and even if it's a one time use--- I'd get the best and most heavy duty ones there is.

If the el-cheapo one fails, and a big chunk of wire springs back and hits you in the face:
    You'll be questioning how great of a bargain they really were.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.

OK People. Enough of this idle chit-chat.
    This ain't your Grandma's sewing circle.
    EVERYONE!
    Back to your oars. The Captain wants to waterski.

Moderator Emeritus