RotoMetals2Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataInline FabricationTitan Reloading
Wideners

Thread: What I discovered about the Dillon Square Deal

What I discovered about the Dillon Square Deal

In another thread, I noted that I was searching for a new progressive. Well, I found a Dillon SD for a price too good to pass on and bought it. After cleaning it and going through it, I have some observations. Let me first preface by saying this is not my first rodeo. I've been an active handloader of pistol, rifle, shotshell and 19th century BP rounds since the 1970s. I have owned Lyman, RCBS, Redding, Hornady, Pacific, Star, Lachmiller, Ponsness Warren and Lee presses. I also have a Huntington hand press. When I say Lyman, I mean everything from the turret press, the 310 tools and even an old arsenal press. In short, I have a PhD in loading presses. All get the job done, in one fashion or another but a few really stand out in the excellence of their design and the utility of their function. The T-7 is one of those. If you load long BP shells with heavy, long bullets, this press gets the job done and done very well. It can even be used as a simi-progressive, much like the PW press in that you can take a round through all of the stations before taking it off the ram. It's faster than a traditional single stage but using it this way is not the ideal system for maintaining accurate powder throws. The shaking as you rotate the turret head settles the powder. Some powders are worse than others. For BP though, this difference is too small to be a concern.