RepackboxReloading EverythingLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Load DataWideners
Titan Reloading

Thread: Odd situation

Boolit Buddy

Odd situation

I have been a Concealed Carry Instructor for over 25 years and have always had a handgun available for self-defense if needed. I am not a regular handgun shooter but shoot .40's 10mm and .45 L/C every once in a while, to stay ready. At 78 I have developed arthritis in my hands and my ability to handle recoil and shoot accurately has left me. I have started carrying a Ruger Mark 2 .22 in my truck and left the big bores at home. I feel I can confidently I can control my shots and get several shots off on target at self-defense ranges. The gun does not fire reliably with hollow points but does well with round nose copper jacketed ammo.
    Under the circumstances what is the general opinion of the stopping power?

My General Opinion: Well, lots of people and deer have been killed by a .22 L.R. Several shots is a plus and adds to the probability of a stop. Better than a sharp stick. Definitely not a .45.

DG

Shot placement is key if it is needed. Better than a rape whistle, or stunning them with a bikini photo of Hillary (present day)!

Boolit Master
    I also carry a Ruger Mk 2 in my car, along with a .38 snubbie. For what it’s worth, mine likes Federal ammo above all else - so you might try different makes before declaring HP’s to be nonfunctional.

As you well know, these pistols are very accurate so several shots in rapid succession would likely stop anyone who wasn’t wearing body armor, and even if they were, you would be able to aim for the throat or eyes with a great chance of scoring hits.

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by jednorris View Post