Titan ReloadingWidenersInline FabricationSnyders Jerky
Load DataLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
RotoMetals2 Reloading Everything

Thread: Loading and/or forming cases for 22 TCM

Boolit Bub

Question Loading and/or forming cases for 22 TCM

Anybody out there reloading 22 TCM or forming cases from 357 Mag or .223 brass? I am having trouble getting reformed brass to go into the chamber of my Contender. No problems with factory ammo. The .223 cases don't want to go all the way into the chamber and the barrel won't close. I can chamber the 357 cases and get them to close sometimes with a little help. Also when reloading factory cases, how do I keep the shoulder from being pushed back? Should I neck size only? I don't crimp much because it's a single shot. I cut the cases, then use forming dies, then reload. I normally load 40 or 45 gr Nosler Ballistic Tips with WW 296 or 2400. What am I missing?

Boolit Master
    I have been reloading this round for 8-10 years I think. The reason you are having issues is the case is to thick on the neck. As for having the shoulder from being pushed back I have never had this issue. I would think you should try bumping the neck less. Once again I think the neck is to thick. When I use converted 5.56 cases years ago I had to neck turn them down. I have never had to do anything other then size prime charge and drop a projectile on a factory case.

I did have a person who screwed up some reloads once on 30-30 and hit the shoulder to hard making the case bow out a bit. I took them and pulled the decaping stem on a sizer and ran them though it lightly and they worked fine. Might want to try that.
    Stop being blinded by your own ignorance.