Load DataTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
RepackboxWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Win 94 question

Win 94 question

From the question below, it's obvious I'm new to this lever gun.

Been looking at a couple of early 1940 carbines and notice that the lever on some will remain tight against the lower tang when closed. On others it wants to flop down. What's the problem, and how difficult is it to fix so the lever stays snug against the tang? If new parts are required, are they expensive?

Look forward to your replies.

PBSmith
    Last edited by PBSmith; 04-21-2023 at 08:54 AM.

It's the strength of an internal flat spring. Not hard to fix, depending on your level of gunsmithing experience and ability, and should not be an expensive part to purchase. Not enough of a problem to not buy the gun if the price is right. However, I wonder why you are looking rifles that are probably older than you are? The only ones to avoid were the '94s made in the 1964-1974 time period. Rifles made thereafter are good rifles and unless there's a historical attachment to the older guns I wouldn't discount the newer specimens at probably better prices.

DG

Boolit Master
    Don't mean to butt into this line of thought, but what is the deal with the 1964-1974 rifles? I just got a '67 94 Classic and would like to know what I might be facing. GF

Boolit Buddy
    Quote Originally Posted by Gray Fox View Post
    Don't mean to butt into this line of thought, but what is the deal with the 1964-1974 rifles? I just got a '67 94 Classic and would like to know what I might be facing. GF
    I was wondering the same thing I have a older 94 30-30 that might be in that same time frame.