Load DataReloading EverythingRepackboxLee Precision
WidenersInline FabricationTitan ReloadingSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters Supply RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Two Long Term Projects Complete !!!

Two Long Term Projects Complete !!!

I have recently completed two Long Term Projects that have been in the works for 10 years+.. Gunsmithing for me takes the form of Improving Operation on Generic Guns like Marlins and Shotguns like Mossberg's, and Refinishing and Building Sporting Guns out of Military Service Rifles from WW1 and 2. Sometimes these projects go on for years simply because of some missing pieces or a missing Skill that I have to develop.

I am a Machinist Toolmaker by Trade so the Machine Work is easy for me and I have the machines to do it. I have also developed decent Wood Working and Finishing Skills over the years So I can make wood look pretty decent. I won't hesitate to refinish a stock on a Gun that I buy that needs some TLC and that gun maybe even be brand new from the factory that didn't do much to finish the wood satisfactorily.

The first gun is a Parker Hale "Deluxe Sporter" that I bought about 2014 for $175. After WW2 Parker-Hale bought up thousands of British Service Rifles and converted them to Sporters. Most of these guns were sold in the US and Canada. My first one was a "Regular Sporter" that was essentially a Enfield #4 Mk1 with the Handguards removed it sold originally for $65 and I converted mine to look like a Enfield L39 Target rifle. #1 Mk3's were also done this way

The Deluxe Sporters were made from the Rifles with worn muzzles from being Over Cleaned. They got the barrels cut 3 " and re-crowned to get rid of the destroyed parts of the barrels, and a new Parker Hale Front Sight Ramp, modified Wood on the Fore End and Sling Swivels. They also got a new 5 Round Magazine which is worth more than the gun itself! These guns sold for $75?