Lee PrecisionLoad DataRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
WidenersInline FabricationRepackboxTitan Reloading
Reloading Everything

Thread: Fire forming .300wsm to .40

Fire forming .300wsm to .40

I'm new to fire forming wildcat casings. I have annealed my .300wsm casings. For the powder load, would I use the .300wsm load data and load them at the minimum or maximum powder weight for the given powder type to be used? Do I need to use a magnum rifle primer since its a magnum casing or can I use standard rifle casing primer? Winchester WLR or WLRM
    Jim Ceglinski
    Southfield, Mi. 48075

You don't want rifle powder for that. Use some really fast flake shotgun powder topped with cream 'o' wheat or grits or similar and some toilet paper to hold it in. Fire it straight up in the air. The COW will generate pressure and form the cases out nicely. Start with a light load, maybe 7 grains of powder. Go up a little at a time until you get fully formed cases. Don't overdo it.

Boolit Master

Can you not neck them up with tapered expanders so that you can load a boolit and work on zeroing rifle and load development?

I have a 416 wildcat based on a 300 WSM. I Use a .338 expander, .358, .375, .416
    Then trim to squareup mouth..

Yep that works too but he did specifically ask about fireforming...

Boolit Master

Quote Originally Posted by Nobade View Post
    Yep that works too but he did specifically ask about fireforming...
    Yes, he did and had not Nobade already answererd that thoroughly, I would have addressed that in addition to posing my question.

Boolit Master
    When primers were 'cheap' I used 8 grains Red Dot, case full of corn meal with a wax wad to fireform 35-284 from 284. Now I have a selection of Lee Decappers with the Lee X-panders in .30, .338, .348, .358, and .375 for neck expansion (MidwayUSA -$2.99(?)). If expanding, lots of lube in the neck, I use Hornady Unique lube on a Q-tip, keeps from splitting necks, annealing help with 'large' changes.