Lee PrecisionInline FabricationRepackboxWideners
Reloading EverythingLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loading 45-70 BP cartridges, 10 chamber, 10 don't....

Boolit Mold

Loading 45-70 BP cartridges, 10 chamber, 10 don't....

I am new to loading BP cartridges for my Sharps. I just purchased a Shiloh Sharps 30" barreled gun. I am loading 70 gr. of 2F behind a cast 500 gr. boolit. I am loading new Starlight cases, processing them exactly the same way. I did 20 but 10 wouldn't chamber in the Shiloh gun. They all fit in the Pedersoli I own but stick and don't seat in the Shiloh.... I took out my micrometer and everything I measure comes out the same... I even measured down the case and found no variances.

Is it possible the compressed powder is bulging the case just above the case base? I just can't seem to work this out.... Any suggestions???

Boolit Master
    The chambers aren’t the same dimension on those two guns. A chamber cast will show you this. This is quite common in 45-70s from different manufacturers

When you say you processed the brass the same, what did you do? If you just cleaned them, I suspect the brass that doesn’t fit your Shiloh was fire-formed for the Pedersoli. The brass fired in your Shiloh should readily fit back in the Shiloh. The problem might also be the seating depth of the bullet. If loading a 500 gr Government style bullet, you may find seating deeper allows the round nose bullet to chamber. If I load a Lee 500 grain Gvt bullet, my OAL has to be less than 2.492”, otherwise, it just won’t go in

Boolit Buddy
    I have 3 45-70's , the Ruger #1 has the loosest chamber , then the Pedersoli and the CPA has the tightest of all even had to take 25 thousand's off the resizing die so that they would chamber easily but once fire formed to the rifle I neck size only and keep rounds marked as to which rifle they are for.

Boolit Mold