RepackboxLoad DataSnyders JerkyInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingWidenersRotoMetals2
Titan Reloading Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 45-70 loads using 5744 powder

Boolit Mold

45-70 loads using 5744 powder

I am new to the 45-70 world. I've spent the last 45 years shooting nothing but flintlock rifles and as age and some infirmities are starting to set in I am looking for a new challenge. I need some loading help using 5744 powder. I have 2 bullets I am loading and would like some expert help determining load specifications for the 525 gr. round nose lead bullet. I cant seem to find any "official" published info on this round and don't want to over load or under load these. I've guessed a bit and am thinking a good place to start is around 21.5 gr. of 5744. Does that sound about right? any suggestions will help. I am shooting a Pedersoli Sharps 45-70 32" barrel, business rifle with Soule rear sight and front globe with inserts.
    I fully understand the need to work loads up but as I have never used any smokeless powder before it's a new deal. I am using an RCBS turret press and have been measuring each powder load on a scale. I've only loaded black powder up to this point but would like to try some of the 5744 powder as most people I've spoken with say it's the closest thing to black powder when used correctly.
    Any help will be very appreciated.

Boolit Master
    I load a 515gr, Lee mold, in pure lead, flat nose, for my 45/70 guide gun, with 27grs of 5744. Very accurate, kicks hard on both ends, This is for my bear gun when fishing. You can look at trapdoor loads to get an idea. I run mine over a coronagraph on my other 45/70s / 45/60 and stay at about 1200FPS with pure lead, I use these in competition, for those I have been using blackhorn209 out to 1000yds, with a 500+ Lee 3r in pure lead, very accurate..