Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingLee Precision
WidenersRotoMetals2RepackboxReloading Everything
Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Question about drying cases after tumbling wet. biggie.

Boolit Buddy

Question about drying cases after tumbling wet. biggie.

OK guys, need your advise. Best friend, just called me. He had wet tumbled 50 30-06 cases and put them in the oven to dry. Forgot to turn oven down and off, let them bake for over an hour at 350 degrees. Said they turned a darker color. Do you think they are ok or would that temp destroy the cases integrety. Wallacem inGa

Boolit Buddy
    I'm not an expert and I'm sure other will chime in, but they should be completely fine. People anneal cases at much higher temps than that. I don't think 350F is hot enough to anneal the cases and the dark color is likely from residue left over from the tumbling process. If anything I would think that it would make the cases closer to new (post-annealing) condition, but likely it hasn't done anything to them except darken them.

Boolit Master

Not very scientific, but use a pair of pliers to crush a dark case, a non baked case, and see if you notice a difference.

I've done that.
    I just ran them in the polisher again so they'd look pretty.

When the 2nd .45ACP stowed away in a batch I washed, and cooked off in the oven-
    All reloading activity was banned from the kitchen.
    Now days, I lay wet brass out on a towel for a day or two for them to dry.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.

OK People. Enough of this idle chit-chat.
    This ain't your Grandma's sewing circle.
    EVERYONE!
    Back to your oars. The Captain wants to waterski.

I absolutely don't trust anything except for the oven to dry my cases. I go 200 degrees for an hour, and know they're dry. jd
    It seems that people who do almost nothing, often complain loudly when it's time to do it.