Load DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
Lee PrecisionPBcastcoInline FabricationRepackbox
Wideners Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .308 hunting boolit mold

Boolit Bub

.308 hunting boolit mold

Greetings, I'm new to this game and I am seeking suggestions for a cast boolit to use for feral hog hunting in a .308. I have 2 grandsons down in Lousiana I'm trying to make hunters out of. I think they would get a kick out of helping to load their own ammo. They like to make things and their parents ( both USAF) have been raising them the old way, doing for yourself, not joined at the hip to a smart phone so I have hope for them. Longest shot would be around 50 yards. We hunt from tree stands primarily.

Boolit Bub
    I have started having some success casting boolits for other calibers. Dont own a .308 mold yet so any ideas are appreciated. Thanks
    Planeguy

Mrs. Thumbcocker used a 165 fp to take this hog. Bang flop. Mold and data on the target.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Paper targets aren't your friends. They won't lie for you and they don't care if your feelings get hurt.

Boolit Grand Master

Lot's of choices. I have tried numerous .30 cal cast bullets over the years in various 30 caliber cartridges including several .308Ws. I found it is pretty hard to come up with a better .30 cast bullet than the old tried and true Lyman 311041. Cast of a proper alloy, GC'd and lubed it will suffice very well indeed when pushed along at 1900 - 2350 fps depending on barrel twist. Even with the faster 10" twist barrel practical hunting accuracy can be had upwards of 2300 fps.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

Boolit Master