WidenersReloading EverythingTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionInline FabricationLoad Data
Snyders Jerky Repackbox
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Stick Welding (SMAW) Advice Needed

Boolit Master

Stick Welding (SMAW) Advice Needed

I’m looking into stick welding and need some advice. I’m completely new to this.
    I was pretty good at acetylene welding auto body sheet steel when I was 17, and now 22 years later I’m considering a stick welder. The first thing I’m wondering about is safety precautions so I can keep feeding my three kids.
    Purpose: I want to build a trailer frame with a 4-bar linkage that can mount a hand-operated earth auger. The 4-bar will be powered by a motor-driven hydraulic piston, or something similar. The trailer will mount to my riding lawn mower. Travel speed of the piston while digging will be slow - lifting the auger up to prevent the auger blade from screwing into the ground and getting stuck is more important.
    I can design a strong frame and functioning machine, but I’m completely ignorant about welding the frame together.
    The stick welder seems to be the most economical equipment set for welding 1/8”-1/4” steel From TSC. The cheap MIG welder from Harbor Freight has too many issues, but a stick welder is harder to goof up at the factory. I can get a quality MIG welder for $800 or a cheap, strong stick welder for $320. I will need a 40-50 amp 240V breaker in my garage, probably guarded by a lock box to keep curious kids away.
    Any other thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated!

Boolit Master

I would recommend one of these: https://smile.amazon.com/MIG-140GS-L...o%2C417&sr=1-2