WidenersInline FabricationRepackboxLee Precision
Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
MidSouth Shooters Supply Load Data

Thread: How much lino to add?

Boolit Bub

How much lino to add?

I am pretty new to all this. I am shooting black powder cartridge long range rifles, 1874 sharps, and want bullets to be 8-9 bhn. I have some pure lead 5 bhn and some linotype. How much lino do I need to add to get the mix to 8-9 bhn? Thanks!

Boolit Master
    Lead alloy mixing cross, using BHN:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Y0raK6_Vbk

Assume a Brinell hardness for standard linotype (84% Pb, 12% Sb, 4% Sn) of 22.

Boolit Buddy
    Quote Originally Posted by Boogan1 View Post
    I am pretty new to all this. I am shooting black powder cartridge long range rifles, 1874 sharps, and want bullets to be 8-9 bhn. I have some pure lead 5 bhn and some linotype. How much lino do I need to add to get the mix to 8-9 bhn? Thanks!
    This will come in pretty handy for mixing.

https://castboolits.gunloads.com/sho...oy-calculators

Boolit Master
    1/2 lb. of lino to 5 lbs. of pure will give you 9.7 BHN. So a 1-10 ratio would be good. I would try a small batch like the 1/2 to 5 and check your BHN and adjust the lino from there.

I have been using 'Bumpo's' alloy calculator listed above for several years. Each time I send in a sample for testing, it comes back very close to what I expected. Most of what I have had tested came to me of an unknown composition. I try to keep my components separate and labeled for future alloys. hc18flyer

Boolit Grand Master

Linotype has a larger % of antimony in it than tin.

For BPCR bullets you do not want any antimony in the bullets. Ergo do not add any linotype. Get yourself some pure tin and mix up a binary alloy of 20-1 or 16-1 for use in your BPCR bullets.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla