RepackboxLee PrecisionInline FabricationWideners
Load DataTitan ReloadingReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: considering a new progressive press (talk me out of it)

Boolit Buddy

considering a new progressive press (talk me out of it)

I have been reloading for 15 years so i do have experience, but i have a redding single stage and redding t7. I am considering a dillon 750 or maybe a 550. The 2 calibers i am interested in reloading for with a progressive is 9mm, 223, and maybe 300blk, everything else is on my other presses. I use nothing but range pickup brass, i never have new brass. I don't track firings my 9mm, but try to on my 223 but gets mixed up at the range. My concern is that i may not find problems in brass if i use progressive to size ect. I might not notice a split or loose primer pocket. And if i prep my brass ahead of time and prime is it worth going progressive. I am not sure the process you guys use for brass prep before you load up a progressive press but i am open to suggestions. Also i wet tumble my brass, and that means i cant clean my brass before i deprime on a progressive because of water in primer pocket unless i bake my brass.

One of the cool things is my wife is onboard with me spending the money on the press, over 1200 bucks, because she has helped me size a lot of brass and knows how long it can take. She did about 1500 9mm before at one time. She also runs the wet tumbler so i am lucky she is involved with my hobby.

Boolit Master

Go with the 750. You won't be sorry. You can use a universal de-capping die so you don't have to worry about the brass being clean. There is a very good feel for primer seating so it is not hard to tell when something is amiss.

Boolit Master
    YOU Want You can afford Your wife gave you her blessing WHY the hesitation ???