Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
Reloading EverythingInline FabricationWidenersSnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2 Load Data
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What are these lines in brass after sizing?

What are these lines in brass after sizing?

This is my first time ever reloading, and I'm sizing the new brass one time before beginning. I'm using .357 magnum starline brass, Lee 3-die carbide dies.

1. What is this from? I would assume the die is dirty but I am just making sure

2. If that's what it is, how do I actually clean the die? Do I need to take the nut off at the top? What cleaning agent do I use?

3. Do I have to size all these cases again to fix it, or can I just load them up and then resize them the next go round after I fire them?

Lesson #1 learned.......... spot check things very often. I planned to inspect every case before priming, because I thought little could go wrong here. I thought wrong, and I think I did 100+ like this.

Last edited by Mint; 11-02-2022 at 08:27 PM.

Boolit Buddy
    Greetings,

What you see is pressure galling. The new brass is chemically clean and it is welding small particles to the sizing die Carbide ring.

You need to find a way to clean the welded bits from the Carbide ring.

It may clean up with an oversize cleaning brush and a cordless drill. Use a little Hoppes; or, the like.

With new brass use some sort of case lube.

Your expander plug will show the same problem with new; or, extremely cleaned, brass.

Cheers,

Dave

Some 600 grit paper on a dowel rod will remove the galling. Roll the die on your leg with the paper and dowel in it. Course ya got to remove the decapping stem.

You can load the brass like that and it’ll be less each time you fire and load it for a few times then gone. To prevent in the futur you need a smudge of dust on your cases. Either run through a dry tumbler a few minutes, or put in a bag with a little flour and shake up. It’ll lube the die enough.