Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2RepackboxWideners
Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingLoad Data
Inline Fabrication MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Cast core or buy wire

Boolit Mold

Cast core or buy wire

Im new to swaging. I have a Corbin kit coming for 224 using 22lr jackets.

Is there a benefit to cast core rather then buying wire? I did get the mold with my kit since I can just buy wire anytime.

I plan to cast with range scrap since it’s softer then wheels weights.

Greg
    Stormin Norman
    sass#104727

The cast cores as far as monetary value goes will be a lot cheaper than wire. I take it that you are getting a core forming die. If so, cast your cores slightly larger than needed and bring them to weight with the core sizing die. If you do this you do not have to worry about the cores being perfect.
    A vote for anyone other then the conservative candidates is a vote for the liberal candidates.

As stated above. Casting cores will be quite a bit cheaper. I've got a couple cutters and molds.... the cutters and extruded wire have just been collecting dust in my drawer. If you've got the Corbin adjustable mold, set the pistons to throw 5 grs over the desired weight and then bleed off the excess. The 5 grains seems to be the sweet spot for repeatable weights in a single stroke of the core Swage. The range scrap will work just fine for .224.

Boolit Master

if you get a custom dedicated core mold, you dont need a bleed die.
    if you are ever being chased by a taxidermist, don't play dead

Boolit Buddy
    I agree with Sasquatch-1, to get the exact weight you're looking for a core swaging die will be required.
    Which other method used the cores will always be several grains lighter or heavier than the actual finished weight desired.