WidenersInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
RotoMetals2Load DataTitan ReloadingRepackbox
Lee Precision Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: my first attempt at casting

Boolit Man

my first attempt at casting

This is my first attempt at casting bullets. I don't have an experienced caster to hold my hand so I'm basically fly by the seat of my pants here. What little I do know I've learned by reading this forum. I used my plumbers pot and propane stove and was constantly adjusting the temp. I did preheat the mold and at one time even had it to hot and the sprue took a while to set.I will use my Chromalox 50 from here on out because it holds a steady 730 degrees. I noticed some bullets came out shiny and most have a frosted look to them. What is the cause of this? Attached is a pic and any input is welcome. I need constructive criticism its the only way I've ever got better at anything. Thanks, RobClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1415.jpg 
Views:	153 
Size:	70.3 KB 
ID:	303802

Boolit Master
    Good job. And you must have a very clean "cut" from the sprue because many times that little bump will not allow a long bullet to stand on the base. Looks like well filled casting and no obvious creases in the bands to leak gas past the bullet. The reason you have a different surface appearance is due to temperature fluctuation of the melt, as you already noted. That is not a big issue until you are shooting long distances with rifle bullets. This is due to the presence of antimony in your alloy. The minor difference in appearance can indicate a slight fluctuation in bullet weight and size. For me at my skill level these days, it is meaningless.