MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationReloading EverythingPBcastco
WidenersLoad DataTitan ReloadingRepackbox
RotoMetals2 Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brand new to everything (except shooting) guy here.

Boolit Bub

Brand new to everything (except shooting) guy here.

Hello all, I was not sure where to introduce myself, but I am brand new to reloading. I just picked up a bucket list rifle, an Italian sharps copy in 45-70. I decided that I should be loading my own for it and came across a complete 310 set for it. I also plan on casting my own boolits as well. I am sure I will have lots of questions in the near future. Thanks for having me here.

Boolit Mold
    Its a fun and rewarding experience to me. I have a model 1873 Springfield Trapdoor made in 1883 I cast, make lube, and load myself for. This year I'm planning on taking the ole trapdoor out to the field and taking a deer with it, since there isn't a wild abundance of bison out in my neck of the woods. 45-70 is simple to cast and load for in my experience. Any straight wall cartridge is somewhat simpler to reload, and tend to have a longer reload life in comparison to shouldered cartridges in my experience. Have you acquired your casting supplies yet? Alloys? Molds?

Welcome to the forum, to both of you. Be careful those old black powder smoke poles are addictive, I bought my first Sharps then another, and another, then a Hiwall and a trapdoor .. . . . . My retirement gift to myself was a Pedersolui 1886 "Sporting Rifle" in, you guessed it, 45/70.

Hold Still Varmint; while I plugs Yer!

Boolit Master

Tough time, as supply-side is depleted, to get the reloading and casting "itch". Gather equipment, components, and raw materials (see list).

The 45-70 is a big 300 to 400+ grain "chunk of lead" as compared to, say, 223 Win. (55 gr.), 357 Mag. (158 gr.), and 30-30 (170 gr.), just to name a few. The 45-70 has significant "authority" that through reloading can be tamed.