Lee PrecisionRotoMetals2Snyders JerkyTitan Reloading
WidenersLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
Inline Fabrication Reloading Everything

Thread: lachmiller reloading dies

Boolit Buddy

lachmiller reloading dies

I picked up a set of lachmiller 30-06 reloading dies. I got the set at a great price, appear to be really well made. Does anyone have setup instructions for lachmiller 2 die set?
    Or can I use setup instructions of a general nature, or RCBS setup instructions sense they bought them out in the 60s? I am new to reloading and anything would help.

Boolit Master
    Welcome to the forum and to handloading!

I have never worked with Lachmiller dies but if you have a full length sizer from them it should set up like most any other similar die.

First thing I like to do with any die, bought used or new is to dissemble it and clean it up. Be sure to properly lube your brass. With the sizer back in operation set the body of the die for full contact with your shell holder without a case inserted. Have the decapping stem backed off so it substantially clears the shell holder plus the inside of the case web.

If the de-capper fails to push the spent primer out of the case, this is good. Simply run the stem farther down and run case through the cycle again.

In fact I leave the case inside the die while I adjust the stem lower.

As you are removing the case from the sizer die you can tighten the jam nut on the stem under a strain from removal. This better centers the stem in the just sized case.

For setting the seating die take a sized case and run it all the way up with the seater die a few turns above hitting the shell holder. With the case parked at the top of the ram stroke turn the seating die body down until you feel a slight resistance and back the die body up a 1/16 to a 1/4 turn depending on how close to the same length your sized cases are to each other. What you are doing is to set the seater die to not crimp the loaded round.