Titan ReloadingWidenersLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Load DataInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
Snyders Jerky Reloading Everything

Thread: An old school 12ga 1 1/2oz load

Boolit Grand Master

An old school 12ga 1 1/2oz load

With the discontinuing of most plastic wads we've had for decades, it's getting impossible to create loads that were once everywhere. This is one my main reasons for continuing to research and test wads we've had for centuries. Paper, felt, fiber, etc. Natural wads.

I was unable to find any listed load in my old manuals for a 1 1/2 oz load with any powder still made. So I decided to test my own. I found multiple resources of loads listed with plastic wads, and I knew the general range I'd be looking in. I then tested them with my Pressure Trace II.

I make no claim to the safety or accuracy of this data. I am not a professional. Use it at your own risk.

The loads I tested are as follows

12ga 2 3/4" Federal Paper hull
    Federal 209A
    Bluedot 33 to 37 grains
    (2) 1/8" 12ga nitro cards + (2) 1/8" 12ga felt wads
    1 1/2 oz lead shot
    fold crimp