WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxRotoMetals2
Load DataLee PrecisionInline FabricationReloading Everything
Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Using .22 cal rifles for deer

Boolit Buddy

Using .22 cal rifles for deer

I wanted to share a few thoughts and experiences on using 22 caliber rifles for deer. I am by no means an expert. Having only recently gotten into deer hunting. With five deer all taken by a Savage 22-250 with 63gr Sierra SMP to my name. But I find such discussions interesting and wanted to add my .02 worth.

First off I do not claim that 22-250 is the perfect deer cartridge in every situation. No cartridge is. Only that it is perfectly serviceable under certain conditions. In my opinion the major drawback with using a 22-250 is the inconsistency of the blood trail. Two of my deer ran any sort of distance the other three being cns hits. Of those two deer I had run one was a yearling doe that produced a easily trackable blood trail. Not that I needed that I saw her go down in the corn field I was hunting. The other a mature doe produced no blood trail that I could find but like the yearling went down in the middle of a wide open corn field. So not the best choice if you want reliable blood trails but it does offer some real advantages.

It is cheaper to shoot meaning it is more economical to practice with. I believe accuracy is the most critical thing when it comes to hunting and that the power of the round does not make up for lack of shooting skill. Meaning that 338 Rum is of no use if you put the round into the deer's digestive tract.