Inline FabricationLoad DataWidenersMidSouth Shooters Supply
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Repackbox
Lee Precision Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decisions, decisions, Lyman Mag 25 or RCBS Pro Melt 2

Boolit Buddy

Decisions, decisions, Lyman Mag 25 or RCBS Pro Melt 2

I've decided to buy a new furnace and have narrowed my choices to either the Lyman Mag 25 or the RCBS Pro Melt 2.
    I cast primarily pistol boolits, .38 and .45 caliber with some .30 cal rifle boolits. I do run off a few hundred a year of 525 gr boolits for .45-70 BPCR but since I ruined both of my shoulders a couple of years ago I'm not sure how much of that I'll ever be able to do again.
    I've been casting for something like 20 years. Started with a cast iron pot on a coleman stove and later got a Lee 4-20 bottom dripper. When the Lee pot was working right I could cast a heck of a lot of bullets in fairly short order but it got to be a PITA so I converted it to a dipper pot.

I figure both of them are made in China and quality will be pretty equal.
    The Lyman pot looks to have a clunky design for the mold guide where the RCBS is pretty simple but more flexible as to what molds it will accommodate.
    Other than that they seem almost interchangeable.

If you've got either one what is your thoughts on them and would you buy it again or go a different route?
    Anyone had opportunity to use both of them? If so which did you prefer?

Thanks

Not sure about the Lyman.

If you're not in a big hurry, I'd wait and look around awhile to try and find a older pro-melt that isn't digital.
    The new ones have been problematic enough that RCBS has held them off the market from time to time.
    I've got a old pro-melt from the 90s and have run at least a 3,500 pounds through it over the years
    for boolits, fishing sinkers, and 8 pound down rigger weights.

And it's still on the job.