RepackboxLoad DataWidenersReloading Everything
RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationLee Precision
Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lube vs PC

Boolit Bub

Lube vs PC

Hey everyone, I’m new to casting in general and would like y’all’s opinion on lube vs PC. I’ve heard and read some conflicting stuff about PC not being good enough to cut lube out and lube not bringing anything to the table that a quality PC can’t do. So what can lube do and what can PC do? What applications would they each be best suited for? Thanks for the help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boolit Master
    I haven't done any statistically rigorous comparisons, but I SUSPECT that equal-weight polymer-coated bullets tend to develop higher velocities than conventionally lubed cast lead bullets (all other things being the same). I was shooting 14.8/2400/158 gr. SWC-PC from a 6" barreled S&W M28 .357 Magnum revolver and getting 75-90 f/s higher velocities than the same load using 158 gr. LSWC. I had my notes with me at the range, and when I saw the difference in velocities, I was convinced that I'd overloaded the PC rounds. I quit shooting them, put them away with a big note that said I needed to pull the ammo. When I did, they were all the right charge weight, 14.8 gr. of Alliant 2400. Same everything else, except the coating on the bullet.
    We're only talking about 6 or 7 percent more velocity, so I didn't exactly reinvent the wheel. But the chambers and bore in my revolver looked great, and the extra velocity didn't exactly SUCK.
    As to brands of PC-coated bullets, I like Hoosier and Missouri Bullet Co. If you succeed in turning out PC projectiles as good as theirs, you've truly accomplished something.
    For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow. Ecclesiastes 1:18
    He that troubleth his own house shall inherit the wind: and the fool become servant to the wise of heart. Proverbs 11:29