Reloading EverythingInline FabricationLoad DataTitan Reloading
RepackboxLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
RotoMetals2 Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 308 150 gr MBW?

Boolit Mold

308 150 gr MBW?

I have been wanting to find a 308 cast boolit for those "just in case" times. I am fairly new to casting and PC but have the equipment. I would like to find a 150gr or close boolit and be able to run it around 2500 fps. These MBW boolits are just what I have in mind. Has anyone tried these?

https://www.montanabulletworks.com/p...r-spire-point/

I would strongly recommend a gas checked boolit. 2500 fps is very ambitious. 2000-2100 is much more doable.

Do some research on this site about boolit fit and etc.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
    Paper targets aren't your friends. They won't lie for you and they don't care if your feelings get hurt.

Banned
    A gas checked pure Linotype bullet!

Boolit Mold
    Well, I read a lot of posts with velocities North of 2500fps and thought that would be reasonable goal. Is leading the issue or is it that accuracy suffers with increased velocity? Or both? I thought PC mitigated the leading and allowed for increased velocities.

Boolit Master
    It is not a problem with leading. It depends on your rifling twist. The spin rate aggravates any flaws and can cause accuracy issues. How bad? Depends on your bullets and your rifle. My .308 (1/10) does best between 1800 and 2000fps. Groups open up a bit as the velocity goes up to the 2400fps range. Still minute of deer, but, not what I like to shoot.

A few people have had ok luck with std alloys and some have added copper to their alloy to go faster.

Boolit Grand Master
    Quote Originally Posted by SEOkie View Post