Reloading EverythingRepackboxWidenersLee Precision
Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRotoMetals2
Snyders Jerky Load Data
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: what to do with fresh venison

Boolit Master

what to do with fresh venison

well I finally did it, got me a nice doe today. I'm really not much of an experienced deer hunter so I let my neighbor help dress it out and we cut it up and gave them half. not much room in the fridge and no place to hang it where wild critters would not get at it. so I cut the half in a 3 pieces ribs and hind quarter and shoulder and put in bag in a cooler with couple bags of ice. tomorrow what should I do? some say cut out back strap cut the rest thin and make jerky. season and smoke the ribs? I got the head in a bag and that I was gonna give to the dog to chew on.
    some say the meat has to age a week or more to be any good. I'm no expert but I know there are lots here that have more experience than I could ever dream of having.

Boolit Buddy
    Aging is good, but have got some where I didn't have the time or weather to age, and it turned out good too. Being a doe probably even better chance of it being good. Backstraps are good deasoned and fried in a cast iron skillet. Jerky is also great, just made a 13 lb batch over Christmas. Roasts are another good way to go. Can make them in the crock pot with veggies or can also corn them and make corned venison reuben sandwiches, which are excellent.

Boolit Master
    It will be good no matter when you process it up....