Load DataWidenersReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
RepackboxInline FabricationSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
Titan Reloading Lee Precision

Thread: Alloy

Boolit Bub

Alloy

Hello all, I’m very new to casting and have seen some conflicting information on the alloy you use.
    1-Does the alloy actually matter? When doesn’t it? When does it?
    2-When starting with an unknown alloy where/how do you get to the desired alloy?
    3-How do you determine what your starting alloy is?
    Thanks for the help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boolit Master
    That's quite a complex question , but only if you want it to be .
    # 3 There are simple back yard sorta test to check the hardness of your alloy such as the thumb nail test , or pencils with various hardness , as well as hardness test kits , all the way through having your alloy analyzed .
    # 2 the only way to change your alloy is to add something to it to achieve your desired outcome , ( and that can be made as simple or as complicated as you want it to be ) .
    # 1 the more you demand from your alloy the more you need to put in it .
    At first I cast 45acp , and 38s loading them on the mild side - I was worried about getting zinc in my alloy so I chose to start out casting with plumbing lead , finding I wanted to get a little better fill out casting at a cooler temperature ( casting hot cast smaller )I added a little tin , then I started casting for the 9mm so I started cutting my plumbing lead alloy with COWW's to harden up the alloy helping with my boollits getting squeezed under sized when loading ( the real fix was properly expanding my case ) . Next I started casting for the rifles , I'm going to stop there things get a little more complicated when you start demanding more from your alloy .
    Try what you have then decided what you need to add to it .

Boolit Bub