Load DataInline FabricationRotoMetals2Repackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingSnyders JerkyWideners
Reloading Everything Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hollow base 44Army C&B conical

Hollow base 44Army C&B conical

Hello, I'm new to the cap n ball scene but I am experienced in black powder. I've always had excellent accuracy using Hornaday 50 cal hollow based conicals in my old knight LK93 inline. I'm left wondering if the hollow base conicals will be as accurate in the 1957 Bill Eduards repro Colt 1860 Army that I have acquired and enjoy at the moment. Any info as to where I can obtain some preferentially 160gr to 180gr range is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Boolit Grand Master

Good afternoon
    Welcome to Castboolits !
    I have shot 200 grain HB conicals from 44 revolvers and can attest they are effective on live critters out to 25 yards. We hunt river bottoms and seldome need to shoot farther than 25 yards most shots being under 20 yards and 7 yards has happened often.
    But I would wonder... if you are considering a hunting load why would you want to go so light weight unless you are thinking of bunnies and other light weight critters.
    With corn crunchers of the larger types (East ILL-nois ) I prefer at least 220 grains as we want a complete pass through. And using 40-1 mix a HB is going to expand with that extra lead weight well appreciated to push that slug all the way through
    But again Welcome to the good life of flying lead.
    "Come unto Me, all you who labor and are heavy burdened, and I will give you rest." Matthew 11:28
    Male Guanaco out in dry lakebed at 10,800 feet south of Arequipa.

Quote Originally Posted by ItllKeal View Post