Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Inline FabricationLoad DataRepackboxWideners
Snyders Jerky RotoMetals2

Thread: Larger than a 20 lb.pot

Boolit Buddy

Larger than a 20 lb.pot

Does anyone have any info on a larger pot? I have been using Lee for many years with no problems at all. (guess I got lucky never has any of them leaked). The problem is 20 lbs is just not enough. I have to stop and wait for more ingots to come up to temp. A 40 lb would be great. Any ideas?

Boolit Master
    I’d love a magma but with preheated ingots and a 20 pound lee I get along okay

Boolit Buddy
    I missed seeing the 40 lb pot before. I think i must have it. Just need to hide the cost from you know who.

Boolit Master

do the 2 pot deal, put one over the other. the top preheats and then pours into the lower casting pot, several members do it this way.
    if you are ever being chased by a taxidermist, don't play dead

I have a Master Caster with the 40 pound pot, but even with it, I put two 8 pound ingots up on the edge of the pot to allow them to warm up while I'm casting. When the pot gets low enough (which doesn't take long with the Master Caster), then I'll add one of the preheated ingots and place another on the rim to take it's place. This allows me to continue casting, rather than waiting for the alloy to come up to temperature.

One caveat, though. Don't take a lunch break, and then get sidetracked, and leave two 8 pound ingots to warm up on the edge of the pot. They melt.... And make a mess in all the wrong places........

Hope this helps.

Fred
    After a shooting spree, they always want to take the guns away from the people who didn't do it. - William S. Burroughs.

Got me a Magma 90# pot fill her up and get her hot you can cast for a while.
    Ken.

Be nice if it was better, but it could be worse

Boolit Master