Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationSnyders JerkyWidenersTitan Reloading
Load Data Repackbox

Thread: Postell 535 gr. bullet

Postell 535 gr. bullet

Hello,
    I am new to single shot rifles and casting bullets for them. I have a Sharps Shiloh 45-70 and would like to cast a 535gr. Postell type bullet. Would anyone be able to give me a mold number for this bullet and recommend a mold that has worked for them.
    Thank you!

Boolit Master
    I’m casting the Lyman 457132 postell for my Shiloh 45-110. Runs great.

Boolit Grand Master

I have and shoot the lymann 535 mould it is a good shooting bullet. It seems to carry enough lube for my 34" barrel when using black powder ( SPG lube)

I converted my mould to nose pour. It seems to shoot a little better than before and I get much sharper bases. but in original form it was still a good shooter. Mine are cast from 20-1 lead / tin. You will want a 10 lb pot or even bigger as 535 plus sprue empty a smaller pot fast. I also ladle pour these.

My rifle is a Pedersoli Sharps long range with half round 34" barrel 1-18 twist.

Boolit Master

Quote Originally Posted by EOChief66 View Post
    Hello,
    I am new to single shot rifles and casting bullets for them. I have a Sharps Shiloh 45-70 and would like to cast a 535gr. Postell type bullet. Would anyone be able to give me a mold number for this bullet and recommend a mold that has worked for them.
    Thank you!
    I tried the Lyman 457132 Postell bullet in my Pedersoli Sharps 45-70. The Lyman mold cast a 1/20 tin lead bullet at a band diameter of 0.458 and a nose diameter of 0.449. A fired case from my Pedersoli will accept a bullet sized to 0.461. So the accuracy was problematic at best.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lyman Mold 457132 Sketch.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	70.0 KB 
ID:	292508