MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersRepackboxReloading Everything
RotoMetals2Load DataLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
Titan Reloading Snyders Jerky

Thread: Buffering shot loads? Chime in, boys.

Buffering shot loads? Chime in, boys.

I'm still a novice with reloading.. just under 2yrs into so far. I've gotten mixed opinions from local guys on using buffer for heavy loads. I notice a lot of factory turkey loads have buffer, as do buckshot. What's your opinion on it? And also... aside from the BPI stuff they sell, anyone use some homemade stuff? Been told corn meal, bird seed, etc. Thanks!

Banned

did some experimenting years ago with handloaded buck and found the patterns were no better with buffer. that was with both #4 buck and OO.

Boolit Buddy
    The load needs to be designed for the use of buffer. Just adding it randomly will not work. I have used it in specifically in designed loads with mixed success

Bill

Boolit Buddy
    I use corn meal buffer in my #4 buck and Quad Aught. Good results.

I would think that with softer shot, the difference would be more profound. Also with a shot-cup. Harder shot, plated, or steel, not so much. jd
    It seems that people who do almost nothing, often complain loudly when it's time to do it.

Agree with Hoodat. Thought the buffer was used to keep the soft shot from deforming…

Sam Sackett

Boolit Grand Master

I bought some Grex when it first came out with the expectation of getting tighter patterns. After much experimentation, I found that it was best suited as a filler for cast boolits. Is/was a great marketing ploy.
    Old enough to know better, young enough to do it anyway!

Men who don't understand women fall into two categories: bachelors and husbands!

Boolit Grand Master

Buckshot is unique in that small changes can make monumental differences. A lot of times buffer will tighten buckshot patterns, often dramatically. Sometimes buffer does nothing. I've never seen buffer cause wider patterns.