MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxLee PrecisionReloading UK
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingInline FabricationADvertise here

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Pid

  1. #1

    Pid

    Anyone know of a source for a fully assembled PID in Canada? I contemplated ordering all the parts from Amazon.ca to assemble one but the total price would be in the neighborhood of $200.00 . I've seen the Youtube videos of Johnny's reloading bench from 2016 and it's a great source, but at that price of $200 CDN I'm thinking if one can be purchased fully assemble for even a little more then it might be worth it for a beginner caster.

  2. #2
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,231
    Moderator Hatch sells very nice assembled units, including the probes. I don’t know if he ships out of the US, though.

    https://castboolits.gunloads.com/for...TCH-Automation

  3. #3
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    209

    Pid

    You donít need all the items that Johnny referenced. I used wire nuts vs a wire strip and hard wired the temp probe. I did buy the project box but you could really use any box you have floating around the house. I only used one 10A fuse but you could skip that too. Used an old 10 foot extension cord cut in half for the unit. Wiring wasnít that hard. So, really just 3 primary items.

    Inkbird Solid State Relay 40DA DC SSR Black Heat Sink for PID Thermostat Temperature Controller https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MCWO35P..._a4a4EbP2V29WE

    F/C PID Temperature Controller, AGPtEK Dual Display Digital Programmable Temperature Control TA4-SSR Solid State Relay with 2 Alarms https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005NGL4KG..._w4a4Eb15DVSPV

    K Type Thermistor Temperature Sensor Probe Temperature Controller,100mm / 4" Long Probe Thermocouple Probe Diameter : 5mm / 0.2"MT-205-100mm5x100x2 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079BQQJKN..._V4a4EbRXN445W


  4. #4
    Boolit Master armoredman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arizona City
    Posts
    1,210
    OK, ignorance on full display - what's a PID?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by TjB101 View Post
    You don’t need all the items that Johnny referenced. I used wire nuts vs a wire strip and hard wired the temp probe. I did buy the project box but you could really use any box you have floating around the house. I only used one 10A fuse but you could skip that too. Used an old 10 foot extension cord cut in half for the unit. Wiring wasn’t that hard. So, really just 3 primary items.

    Inkbird Solid State Relay 40DA DC SSR Black Heat Sink for PID Thermostat Temperature Controller https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MCWO35P..._a4a4EbP2V29WE

    F/C PID Temperature Controller, AGPtEK Dual Display Digital Programmable Temperature Control TA4-SSR Solid State Relay with 2 Alarms https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005NGL4KG..._w4a4Eb15DVSPV

    K Type Thermistor Temperature Sensor Probe Temperature Controller,100mm / 4" Long Probe Thermocouple Probe Diameter : 5mm / 0.2"MT-205-100mm5x100x2 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079BQQJKN..._V4a4EbRXN445W


    Yeah originally I had all his referenced items in my Amazon Cart but have since eliminated a few. I'm just sitting on the fence about ordering the absolute necessary parts and I probably will soon but was just kind of waiting to see if I could get an already assembled unit here in Canada but from what I can tell it isn't something that popular as such.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by armoredman View Post
    OK, ignorance on full display - what's a PID?
    I'm sure someone more experienced can provide the necessary info but basically it's an external unit to control the temperature on the lead pot to maintain consistency. Hope that kinda makes sense.

  7. #7
    Boolit Master armoredman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arizona City
    Posts
    1,210
    OK. I have just been using the same bare bones 10 pound Lee for years...

  8. #8
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    209

    Pid

    Quote Originally Posted by dearslayer View Post
    I'm sure someone more experienced can provide the necessary info but basically it's an external unit to control the temperature on the lead pot to maintain consistency. Hope that kinda makes sense.
    Exactly. It controls the pot and cycles power to maintain temperature. Really helpful knowing when pot is ready to go after adding a few cold ingots. I set mine @ 710 and it overshoots to about 720 every once in a while. Without it I noticed my pot getting overly hot when I was down to about 1/3 left in the pot. For me it was a really fun learning project as well.

  9. #9
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Plymouth County, IA
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by TjB101 View Post
    You don’t need all the items that Johnny referenced. I used wire nuts vs a wire strip and hard wired the temp probe. I did buy the project box but you could really use any box you have floating around the house. I only used one 10A fuse but you could skip that too. Used an old 10 foot extension cord cut in half for the unit. Wiring wasn’t that hard. So, really just 3 primary items.

    Inkbird Solid State Relay 40DA DC SSR Black Heat Sink for PID Thermostat Temperature Controller https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MCWO35P..._a4a4EbP2V29WE

    F/C PID Temperature Controller, AGPtEK Dual Display Digital Programmable Temperature Control TA4-SSR Solid State Relay with 2 Alarms https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005NGL4KG..._w4a4Eb15DVSPV

    K Type Thermistor Temperature Sensor Probe Temperature Controller,100mm / 4" Long Probe Thermocouple Probe Diameter : 5mm / 0.2"MT-205-100mm5x100x2 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079BQQJKN..._V4a4EbRXN445W

    The pic makes it look like that concoction is inside the house. Your table saw makes a good base.
    Take a kid to the range, you'll both be glad you did.

  10. #10
    Moderator



    MrWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NE West Virginia
    Posts
    3,745
    You can use a power supply from an old computer if you have one laying around as the case. That is what I did.

  11. #11
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    JAX, FL
    Posts
    747
    Quote Originally Posted by MrWolf View Post
    You can use a power supply from an old computer if you have one laying around as the case. That is what I did.
    An good option IF you think an internal fan is needed. I assembled a PID several years ago without a power supply and internal fan. A few months ago I added a second PID to my box and still do not need a power supply and internal fan. I suppose it comes down to your design and layout, but attaching the heatsink on the outside eliminates the need for fan/power supply.
    ďSome people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don't have that problem.Ē Ronald Reagan


  12. #12
    Boolit Master


    GregLaROCHE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Southern France by way of Interior Bush Alaska
    Posts
    3,365
    I haven’t bought one yet, but when I do, it will probably be from Hatch. Also, I will order the model that has two controllers built in, so I can control my hot plate for keeping molds at temperature. Something to consider if you buy or make one.

  13. #13
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by remy3424 View Post
    The pic makes it look like that concoction is inside the house. Your table saw makes a good base.
    Attached garage right off basement. Table saw really does make a sturdy base and gives me a convenient excuse not to do any major woodworking projects. Vent hose is attached to a board I clamp into window and wife gave me some old under cabinet lights to use.

    PID was a two hour project to cut the housing and wire it up. First attempt didnít work as I had the wires backward from the probe to PID. (Or their directions were wrong) Ö then about another 45 min to have the PID Ďlearní the pot heat up timing.

  14. #14
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by oley55 View Post
    An good option IF you think an internal fan is needed. I assembled a PID several years ago without a power supply and internal fan. A few months ago I added a second PID to my box and still do not need a power supply and internal fan. I suppose it comes down to your design and layout, but attaching the heatsink on the outside eliminates the need for fan/power supply.
    Iíve notice none of the components really get hot running for 2 or 3 hours.

  15. #15
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by MrWolf View Post
    You can use a power supply from an old computer if you have one laying around as the case. That is what I did.
    Love to see a pic of that. Will be making another one down the road for my PC oven.

  16. #16
    Moderator



    MrWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NE West Virginia
    Posts
    3,745
    Quote Originally Posted by TjB101 View Post
    Love to see a pic of that. Will be making another one down the road for my PC oven.
    Made this probably eight or so years ago. Pardon the mess. Been cleaning out areas from the move and haven't gotten to organizing yet.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20211124_190515.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	54.5 KB 
ID:	292159
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20211124_190533.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	66.2 KB 
ID:	292160

  17. #17
    Boolit Buddy
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by MrWolf View Post
    Made this probably eight or so years ago. Pardon the mess. Been cleaning out areas from the move and haven't gotten to organizing yet.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20211124_190515.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	54.5 KB 
ID:	292159
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20211124_190533.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	66.2 KB 
ID:	292160
    Nice Ö looks like a clean setup. How do support the probe on the pot side so itís not sitting on the bottom.

  18. #18
    Boolit Buddy dave 45-90's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    112
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	E9ACCEFD-0893-4792-84A0-5CD123D7D21F.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	65.4 KB 
ID:	292165Pot and power coat controller. Parts off fleabay
    NRA Endowment

  19. #19
    Moderator



    MrWolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    NE West Virginia
    Posts
    3,745
    Quote Originally Posted by TjB101 View Post
    Nice … looks like a clean setup. How do support the probe on the pot side so it’s not sitting on the bottom.
    Been a long time since casting due to injury, divorce, and move, but I remember bending a coat hanger. Hopefully, I will be in a position this spring to have everything set up and good to go. Been a long journey.

  20. #20
    Boolit Mold
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    9
    I got everything from China (the 9th province of South Africa) for $15 to build a PID. So build it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check