Inline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataWideners
Lee PrecisionRepackboxReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Casting pure lead .45 acp rounds for use in cap and ball revolver?

Boolit Mold

Casting pure lead .45 acp rounds for use in cap and ball revolver?

Anyone here ever done it?
    The diameter is great at something in the neighborhood of .452

Im thinking a .45 acp lyman devastator.
    Im already looking to cast for my 1911, so when shopping potential moulds i couldnt help thinking "why couldnt that work in my 1858?"

Would really appreciate any input on the topic.

Thanks in advance, fellows.

It might be a little difficult to load. When using a 45 cal. ball the cylinder is suppose to cut a ring of lead off the ball so that it seals well. Doing that to a full length pistol bullet might be difficult. This is just my opinion I have never done it before. If you try it let us know how it works.
    A vote for anyone other then the conservative candidates is a vote for the liberal candidates.

Boolit Mold
    I have a pretty solid powder inc reloading stand. Ive been casting and shooting some Eras Gone English Kerr conicals. TBH theyre enough of a pain to load on the gun itself that i always use the loading stand for them anyhow.

Boolit Mold
    Gosh, you got me thinking though, Sasquatch-1. Theres no taper to the base of the bullet, probably present a real issue getting the dang thing started in the mouth of the cylinder.

Boolit Mold
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LY2650374.jpg 
Views:	14 
Size:	23.4 KB 
ID:	291816

You may check to see if there is a gas check bullet mold available. The rebate on the bottom may be enough to allow you to start the bullet. The other problem I can see is that the bullet may not seat symmetrically.
    A vote for anyone other then the conservative candidates is a vote for the liberal candidates.

Boolit Buddy