Load DataLee PrecisionRepackboxSnyders Jerky
Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersInline Fabrication
Titan Reloading RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Scrap Range Lead Experiment

Scrap Range Lead Experiment

I am lucky - no one else it seems, is interested in mining the berm at our local range.
    Dig it out, sift it, dump it, smelt it, .....easy peasy. Good source of lead in trade for my labor. Maybe when I get into it, I may think differently, but right now it sounds doable.
    OK...I am up for a try. Fall and winter is smelting season.
    But here is my problem.
    I have a hardness tester and can tell roughly the BHN of the range scrap lead. But I like to shoot harder bullets.
    I have been using 5lbs ww to 1 lb lino for my entire 40 years of casting handgun calibers.
    Once i get this range scrap smelted, I'll test it and get a BHN.
    But I want to know how much of what to add to the range scrap to harden it up.
    I don't want percentages of this or that. I want something like: "....... 5bs range scrap + so much of this or that gives Lyman #2."
    I have linotype in 25 lb pigs just short of 100 lbs. I hate to even think about using that.
    Thoughts?
    What do i add and in what ratio to harden up range scrap?
    Collector and shooter of guns and other items that require a tax stamp, Lead and brass scrounger. Never too much brass, lead or components in inventory! Always looking to win beauty contests with my reloads.

Boolit Grand Master

Southern France by way of Interior Bush Alaska