Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingSnyders Jerky
RepackboxWidenersLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
RotoMetals2 Load Data

Thread: Home made Sporting Clays cart

Boolit Master

Home made Sporting Clays cart

This is not about casting, but we are all a resourceful bunch and I think we all enjoy seeing each other's clever money saving projects.

I started shooting sporting clays about 10-12 years ago, after a lifetime of skeet and bird hunting. While I liked the neat sporting clays carts some guys had, I was never going to pay $300-$400 for one. That's a lot of shells or components!

But then this appeared in someone's garbage. It's a jogging stroller.

I removed a lot of the extraneous stuff like the canopy and the safety straps, most of which were just tied up out of the way. It wouldn't release to fold, so I flooded the mechanism with G96 to free it up. Now it folds! I cleaned up a lot of rust. The hand brake was completely out of adjustment, but that was easy to fix. I spent about $20 for some ATV gun mounts, and ended up with this

Man that looks like a sporting clays cart!

The exposed muzzles made me uneasy

So I got two 2" rubber Fernco caps. I removed the clamps, and used black zip ties to secure them to the bottom gun mounts

About the only thing I'm still trying to do is salvage the cupholder tray that that went up by and between the handles. Right now I can put it on, but the guns lie right over where a drink would go. And while a cold drink or water bottle would be nice, more importantly there is a neat storage compartment that would be perfect for choke tubes etc. and that's the main reason I want to try to salvage that. I'll keep working on it.

South of the north pole in the land of the falling waters
    Well , there's always the "Bar buoy" holder like they use on boats to keep from spilling beverages . Probably can find one to clamp on the steel somewhere .

Jack
    Buy it cheap and stack it deep , you may need it !