Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan Reloading
RotoMetals2Inline FabricationRepackboxSnyders Jerky
Wideners Load Data

Thread: sizing 480 ruger bullets

Boolit Bub

sizing 480 ruger bullets

Fellas Im a newb caster looking to set up for 480 ruger in a mauser bolt action. After low speeds, around 800-1000fps, whatever mixes work. Things are getting a bit scarce where I am but I found the Lee double cavity 400-476-RF mold and the RCBS lubamatic sizer die in .476. Bore is around .474. Does this all sound okay to make a start with? Where do i find a top punch to match this bullet?

Boolit Bub
    I guess I got the secret handshake wrong

Vendor Sponsor

If you can't get one direct from RCBS, Lathesmith is a member here he makes dies and punches. First, let me ask you if you know what your throat diameter is? This is what you want to size to, not the bore.
    Got a .22 .30 .32 .357 .38 .40 .41 .44 .45 .480 or .500 S&W cylinder that needs throats honed? 9mm, 10mm/40S&W, 45 ACP pistol barrel that won't "plunk" your handloads? 480 Ruger or 475 Linebaugh cylinder that needs the "step" reamed to 6° 30min chamfer? Click here to send me a PM You can also find me on Facebook Click Here.

Banned

Secret handshake?

Banned

ive owned 3 475s and 2 480s and .476 bullets worked well in all of them

Boolit Grand Master
    I didn't answer yesterday because I have zero hands on experience with the .480 Ruger cartridge, but the dimensions sound reasonable to me.

For the top punch, I would use whatever flat nosed punch I had on hand. Or make one, it is doable with a drill and a file if you aren't too picky about looks. The stem on my factory built top punches is usually .260, but a ¼" bolt or rod works fine. Make it about an inch long and go from there.

My biggest question is just how are you going to get the rimmed 480 Ruger to feed from a Mauser magazine?

Robert

Boolit Bub