RepackboxInline FabricationWidenersLee Precision
RotoMetals2Load DataTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1871 mauser help

Boolit Buddy
    behind the lines of enemy territory,60 miles from NYC

1871 mauser help

Its been almost two years to get all the parts I needed to have a functional rifle, but now I've encountered a problem.Although the barrel is marked 10.95 I drove a round ball(.490") into the muzzle and got .449". I sized Missouri Bullet Co.'s 325 gr "slammer" down to .451", BUT the rounds won't chamber!
    What diameter boolits are you guys using? Does anyone have a few .448"-.447" boolits they'd like to sell or trade?
    I'd like to know what will work before I buy a mold or more boolits

Boolit Buddy
    Hello, I am not experienced in that round or that rifle but I am going to guess there should be room for it to fit. One problem I have seen is when flaring the case mouth is to get to much of a flare that the round will not chamber. Are you crimping the rounds? If not I would just for fun crimp one and see if it fits. Also is the bullet seated out to far and hitting rifling before it gets completely chambered?

Sent from my moto g power (2021) using Tapatalk

Boolit Buddy

I am assuming you have the 1871 (single shot) and not the 1871/84 repeater.

For my 1871 I had good luck with Lee 45-70 HB bullet sized to .451, this will not chamber at this point, I then ran the loaded round back into the sizer die to size it down a bit more. Just make sure it chambers freely, you don't want to have to force it closed as there will not be enough room for the cartridge to expand and release the bullet without an increase in pressure.

My final solution was to go with the Accurate 45-370Y heeled bullet that has a .44 shank and .459 front driving band.

http://accuratemolds.com/bullet_deta...bullet=45-370Y