Inline FabricationRepackboxRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingLoad Data
Wideners

Thread: tang sight Lyman vs marbles vs Varner vs MVA

Boolit Master

tang sight Lyman vs marbles vs Varner vs MVA

anyone have experience with recent production tang sight.

The Marbles I bought for my Uberty 1873 had a windage knob. the Lyman was only shown with elevation. I had a New Lyman on my old 1894 Winchester and it also had only elevation.
    It was ok as windage was right on with front sight centerd anyway.
    A Boy in a Old Man's Body. I Shoulda Been a Cowboy

Boolit Master
    I’ve got new marbles tang sights on my first year Marlin 39a, Miroku 1892, and Rossi 92. All good.

I have no experience with the Varner & MVA sights; but have owned/used several different Lyman & Marbles tang peep sights.

Since I want a sight that's "set-n-forget", both the Lyman & The more expensive Marble's are equal for my needs.

The reason the Marble's a bit more expensive is because it has built-in windage adjustment; whereas the Lyman's windage is easily adjusted via shimming under one side or the other of the installed tang sight base.

Both sights have adequate elevation adjustments.

Last edited by pietro; 09-05-2021 at 09:46 AM.
    Now I lay me down to sleep
    A gun beside me is what I keep
    If I awake, and you're inside
    The coroner's van is your next ride

Boolit Buddy
    MVA sights are in a class all by themselves. Since the early 90's they have produced a modern reproduction of original sights. However the fit and finish is to a standard far superior to a 120 year old original. They're Soule line of tang sights, with a true windage adjustable base is a shooters dream come true. MVA might be the most noted of the high quality tang sight makers, however Baldwin, Kelly and Shaver vernier sights should not be overlooked.